Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 12

    3 days at sea, 3 time changes

    April 1, 2023 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌧 54 °F

    It's been a relaxing 3 days at sea, though there was a fair amount of "motion of the ocean" happening.
    Day 1 at sea, we went through the fiorlands of New Zealand. We first saw Dusky Sound, which I viewed from inside the ship as I caught up on my written journal. It was quite a scene out the windows. The second sound (pictured) was Milford Sound. I went onto the bow of the ship and experienced moving into the Sound. It was majestic. I don't recall the history behind either of them, but feel free to Google if you'd like to know more.
    Inbetween the sounds, I did a scavenger hunt and colored and of course talked to everyone along the way.
    Day 2 was lazy. We had our first of three time changes as we were still in the same time zone as New Zealand, who did fall back (they're entering fall/winter). I lay in bed essentially until 11:30 because I didn't want the motion of the ocean to get me. I was truly fine and enjoyed the afternoon and evening.
    Day 3, the motion of the ocean was smooth sailing. We talked to two different couples at breakfast and at dinner for a couple hours. The afternoon was sitting on the balcony, enjoying the sunshine, and reading a book. 😀
    Today, we are arriving in Hobart, Tasmania (AUS). That's the sunrise picture. I'm super glad to be getting off the ship and on land today. We also had our last time change this morning. If you thought fall break or spring forward is annoying, try fall back three days in a row 😳 I was and ready to go to the gym yesterday at 4:35. Today, I was up at 3 🤦‍♀️
    I'm headed off to an excursion in Tasmania to see Wildlife and Waterways.
    Read more