Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    LOCO London Comedy Film Festival

    January 24, 2015 in England ⋅ ☀️ 7 °C

    This weekend I volunteered at the London comedy film festival. It's a 4 Day event which previews lots of upcoming new comedy films plus a few classics all throughout London, with the BFI Southbank being its base.

    On Wednesday night I attended the launch party at a bar called topolski. It was mainly an industry catch up really but it was cool to get a peak into a different world.

    On Saturday night I was stationed at the BFI southbank and on Sunday at the Lexi, a cinema in Kendal Rise, near me.

    Saturday night was the big night of the festival with a number of big movies having their premier running simultaneously. The movie that won the festival award was SuperBob and had a number of well know faces in the audience including Ricky Gervais.

    My role was to hand out questionnaires, clean up rooms & prepare them for the pre-launch parties and set up the bar for the post event party. I blew up lots of balloons!

    At the end of my shift I went wandering along Waterloo looking for somewhere to eat when, whilst looking at an Indian menu this lady walking by said 'oh that looks a bit dire I wouldn't try that', making reference to the lack of people. She turned and pointed to a pub down the road 'the hope & anchor, try that. It looks closed but go in, sit at the bar and try the duck'. Before I had time to turn back and say thanks she was gone.

    So off I went to this pub, was sat at a shared table, ordered the duck and struck up a conversation with a french couple who were out celebrating their one year wedding anniversary. We had such a wonderful time, we chatted about everything from Australia, paris, the French country side & good countries for food. It was probably the highlight of my weekend and ins if the best things about travelling solo.

    On Sunday I worked at small cinema in Kendal Rise called The Lexi. Its run by volunteers and I think all of their profits, or a large portion, go to a charity. They have a cool revolving gallery on the side and a big cinema, with comfy lounge chairs, cushions and a cool light fixture.

    We set up the food table and the quizzes before people arrived. As thus was the final event, and a lot more laid back we were able to enjoy the food and drink, participate in the game and watch the movie. It was a lovely way yo spend a Sunday afternoon.

    I've been looking forward to this festival, back to doing something in a field I am pursuing.

    To look up:
    London Comedy Film Festival http://locofilmfestival.com/
    Lexi Cinema https://thelexicinema.co.uk/
    Read more