Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Sun N Fun, Lakeland, FL

    April 5, 2017 in the United States ⋅ ⛅ 33 °C

    I was concerned about the expected air traffic when I arrived. But I heard nothing on the radio and no responses to my transmissions. Oh, oh. Was I on the right frequency. Then I landed.

    No one else was flying. A red flag was up, i.e.no flying other than arrivals. Apparently I was the only one who had arrived today. Later in the afternoon the crosswind lessened and flying restarted.

    Hot.

    Many things were nice. Isolated incidents of extreme disorganization were unfortunate and taxing. It took one and a half hours for someone who knew to know the right someone to call and find out how I can get my plane int the campsite, then to get the plane to the campsite. The Florida Pipistrel dealer, Rand, helped me physically move it there.

    The hardboiled egg and orange from breakfast was running out of supplied energy. Brain becoming more stupid.
    It took 2 hours to put up the tent. Hot. Thirsty. A neighboring camper offered a spot in his big trailer with his family if I gave up. And he meant it. Air mattress too. Nice guy, Sam was.
    Eventually I went down to his site and he and his son Ben (?) came back to help. Once we lifted the tent into the 3D shape it was supposed to become, the tent poling labyrinth solution became obvious.
    Hot, tired.
    Got drink and food and sat in shade. Got better.
    Hot sleeping at night. Slept on sleeping bag.
    There was a weather alert for thunderstorms and small hail for the early am. Much widespread concern about the possible wind and hail.
    Read more