Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Day 4 Another hard day on the feet!

    March 22, 2018 in Singapore ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    What amazes me about Singapore (and sorry for those who have read previous blogs) I am blown away by their architecture. Last longer stay here I was amazed, but since then they have built even more unreal buildings. This place is full of design and interest! But way, way too dear for budget travellers. So a good thing we are only here for 2 days!
    Staying at the Robertson Quay Hotel in Clark Quay.

    Our day started with me having a Melt down with my phone and the computer, trying to unload all my pics as the phone is full to the brim. I really am over having a 16g phone for a photographer that’s like an ant! But it is what it is so put up with it.....
    I can hear John in my ear! It was so full it kept shutting down Instagram my program I share me pics to the world! That and the fact I hadn’t pre set up my 2 baby hard drives that I upload my pics to daily had me going around the twist. But survive I did and poor John trying to cope with my mental break down, I have got to get more patient with this process if both of us are to survive 7 months of pic taking.

    We set off again on foot to find a camera parts shop as the grip on my 18-300 mm lens has stretched and if no use... over worked the poor thing. After a bit walk we found the store only to be told no they don’t sell parts. So we walked to the nearest train stn and caught the train to the Botanical Gardens. We managed to spend a few hrs there, but in all honesty I really thought Singapore’s BG would be heaps better than it was.... don’t get me wrong it was still lovely but I truly thought it would have a wow factor and it really doesn’t.

    From there we made our way back to the trains, getting the hang of this now and it’s so cheap. This time the destination was The Arab Quarter! Not very big but hit all the senses, worth our visit! Had a great lunch in a Moroccan restaurant yummy food.
    Then a wander around to see all the graffitied walls around the restaurants. From here we walked to see Raffels Hotel again and sadly, very sadly it was all covered up having huge Reno’s done..... so no Raffels shots but plenty of shots of un real buildings....

    We have walked kilometres again today and our poor feet are telling us!

    We set off in this huge shopping Mall to see if we could find an ATM my goodness it was huge and hardly an ATM in sight.... so we walked and walked annnnddd walked finally found one that would let us have just a bit of money, then we saw a cafe with 3 beers or 3 ciders for $ 15 which for here is cheap cheap..... John paid $25 last night at dinner.... so 3 strongbow was ordered and after that we didn’t want to move. But finally did then found a station we could catch and interchange some trains to get home.... Back by 6 pm long day but another day of good sights to delight the senses....
    Read more