Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 60

    Aarhus

    September 8, 2023 in Denmark ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    I’m sat on a train in Denmark looking at landmarks I passed 10 minutes ago. I’m sure this is the way we’ve just come. My train was supposed to stop as Esbjerg and change number before carrying on to Aarhus… Maybe it just goes back a station and then carries on? That could definitely be a thing right?

    No… as it turns out my train that supposed to go straight on to Aarhus, has in fact about turned and is now careering right back to where I started. Bugger. I jump off at the next stop and find myself stranded on a train platform in rural Denmark with another family and a group of 4 students all in the same position.

    After a bit of rerouting I catch a train which takes me back to the station we about turned at and then I managed to catch another train which is once again apparently going to an intermediate stop, changing number and carrying on to Aarhus. I settle in for a bit and then as we sit waiting at the station where the train is supposed to change number, I find myself holding my breath as we start moving again… once again going back the way. Just as I’m cursing Danish railways, the monitor overhead updates to Aarhus and the next correct station (apparently doubling back is a normal part of this route) and there’s an audible sigh of relief from those around me who are clearly also trying to reach Aarhus.

    Aarhus (pronounced closer to Aros rather than ‘Ar-hoose’ as I’ve been wrongly pronouncing it) is a slightly strange city. It’s a hodgepodge of modern minimalist design that the Scandinavian countries are known for and quaint, little buildings that date back centuries and look like they come straight out of a Hans Christian Andersen tale. Makes sense given that he was born just a couple of hours up the road.

    Originally founded by the vikings over 1250 years ago, the name means ‘river mouth’. Nowadays it’s known within Denmark as ‘the smiling city’ and on days like today when sun streams down and autumn colours are just starting to peek through, it’s not hard to see why.
    Read more