Satelit
Tunjukkan pada peta
  • Hari 4

    End of day 4 Goldcliff to Redwick

    1 Jun 2023, Wales ⋅ ☀️ 19 °C

    A 1000 yards from Goldfcliff I was back on top of the sea wall. A continuation of the strong north easterly breeze we have had all week, moderated the strong sunshine.

    Very few people on the couple of miles I was on the sea wall. Did meet a chap who said he was practising for the 600 mile GR9 from Jura, France to the coast near Marseille. Getting quite boring walking with the sea always on the right. I admire people who can do the whole coastal walk. I am quite happy my stint on it is almost over.

    Mid afternoon left the sea wall and the Wales Coast path to walk inland towards Redwick where I was hoping to camp for the night. Arrived in a field same time as a farmer in a JCB. He asked if I had seen two cows? He spotted one a few moments later in a Reen. Apparently they like being wet. This dashed my hope that Reens were a barrier between them and me!

    Redwick is a very well kept village with an historic building commemorating its historic farming heritage. The church includes a plaque 5 feet off the ground recording a flood of 1606 thought to have been caused by a tsunami, itself caused by an earthquake around the scilly isles.

    The Rose pub is adjacent to the village hall. It side doors open onto the village hall garden area which a few patrons used to enjoy a drink in the sunshine. This seemed a good use of shared facilities.

    When I asked about camping, landlady Sarah immediately said I could camp in the beer garden. Spoke to a few locals including two I had met last night in the Waterloo Inn. Had interesting conversation with arable farming couple about the problems with farming. Suffice to say we are all doomed!

    Rose menu included 'light bites' which I found was enough food for me and saved a few £. Excellent apple and blackcurrant crumble and custard to finish.

    About 7 miles from Nash to Redwick completed at end of 4th day of walking.
    Total miles so far : 39
    Weather overcast and cool at first, sunshine and glorious from late morning with a cool NE breeze all day
    Number of people passed : about 10
    Baca lagi