Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Day 24 Froncysyllte to Llangollen

    June 21, 2023 in Wales ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    Wednesday - the longest day if the year : Up 06:30, away 08:10 to walk the mile into Llangollen. Caught bus to Froncysyllte to resume walk from where I finished yesterday. Offa's Dyke path passes near Wern Isaf farm campsite, so I left tent setup to pack up as I pass on way back. This meant I avoided having to carry full rucksack. Having mooched around Trevor Canal basin north of the Pontcysyllte aquaduct, I decided on the walk back, to stay another night to explore Llangollen and shorten tomorrow's walk.

    The walk started along the Canal then ascended the hillside through woodland. Eventually reaching a road along the foot of an enormous quarry labelled on the map as 'The Panorama walk' then the 'Trevor rocks'.

    I left Offa's Dyke path here to walk up to Castell Dinas Bran. This is the remains of a local castle of some note built in the 13th century. It lasted 2 decades before being sacked. From here it was a short walk down hill to the campsite then, after charing device and doing laundry, I walked into town. Bought new thin socks but with more padding than the inners I had been using and posted my heavy outer socks home saving 303gm. Also picked up some thread to repair tent. Yesterday I had foolishly tugged at the tensioner that pulls the end of the inner towards the fly sheet to get more headroom when lying down. It had been glued into a wrap of fly sheet fabric but my tugging meant it no longer was! I repaired it yesterday with a clamp I had bought years ago for just such an equipment failure, which worked a treat. Back at camp today I think I made rather a good job of sawing a repair. Judge for yourself from the photograph.

    Walked the mile down hill into Llangollen for supper and Cider in Gales wine bar, where I was yesterday. Great food again.

    4 miles from Froncysyllte to Llangollen completed at end of 24th day of walking and 16th on Offa's Dyke path. Plus 6 miles walking to, from & around Llangollen and Castell Dinas Bran.
    Total miles so far : 250
    Average speed : 1.6 ... I admit it, I was dawdling around town.
    Weather sunshine and glorious. Another hot day with occasional breeze.
    Number of people passed : 5
    Objective tomorrow : Pen-y-Stryt
    Read more