Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 20

    Randomer and randomer

    May 21, 2023 in Canada ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    I've been really enjoying Quebec's Eastern Townships (despite being told they weren't anything special), they're rather pretty with lakes, rivers and sweet streams dotted everywhere. I stopped in the attractive town of Magog for lunch but was soon turned off it due to the piped tinny music playing from each lamppost - odd, and a bit "Blackpool"... felt like I was being followed by an annoying teenager playing their crappy music from a phone.

    Exciting to journey through Parc national du Mont-Orford... beautiful...well it was before the downpour.

    I also got a little lost at some point, and, remembering past parental guidance, looked for a police man or a lady with children, as you do. Since the former was unlikely I pounced on one of the latter who was passing. We had a pleasant little chat, she enquired about my travels, and we went our separate ways.

    Since none of the WS contacts I'd messaged had replied it was looking like I was heading for a soggy forrest camp. However it being a long weekend due to Victoria Day (that random public holiday which no Canadian seems to know why they celebrate a dead British queen, and which the Quebecois (so determined to distance themselves from the English) renamed it Journée des patriotes), the campsites were full. Full, and it was of course illegal to camp anywhere else within the park

    Joy

    Soggy joy

    But then someone called to me.

    It was the same lady with child...offering me accommodation the next night in Montréal, if I'd like it!

    I've banged on about reading and heeding the signs on this blog already, so of course I jumped at the offer...which means so long as I can survive a wild camp outside of the park this evening I'm set for an upgrade and some welcome smiley faces as I roll into Montréal tomorrow! Woohoo!
    Read more