Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 84

    Jasper National Park

    July 24, 2023 in Canada ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    After a monstrous final day of the FTR, there were still some lovely gradients to tackle but nothing could have taken the huge smile off my face as I approached the sun-blessed alpinesque resort town of Jasper.

    ...

    As a little recovery was in order I booked in at the Hostel International, showered for the first time in days, set some laundry going, and sat back in the bar with a well earned beer.

    One of these days I'll learn that hostels don't ever supply the economical respite you might think from the outset. Four men in a dorm on a blazing hot day with no air con. and just one crappy fan meant the room was sauna-hot all night and sleep therefore impossible.

    But it really didn't matter.

    I'd dropped Perry in Vicious Cycles for some R&R and a little TLC from the lovely Liam who'd tweaked, tightened and lubed Perry's drivetrain to hitherto unknown perfection.

    We practically glided up, up and away into the hills bound for Icefields Campgrounds.

    Just this initial first day in Jasper National Park has blown me away - I doubt my photos do it justice but ... wow!
    Read more