Satelliitti
Näytä kartalla
  • Päivä 16

    Torres del Paine - Day 3 - Las Torres

    6. maaliskuuta 2018, Chile ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    Today was what we were most looking forward to - hiking to Las Torres. It would be tough, it would be challenging but it was going to be oh so worth it. Our eagerness topped up energy levels and we were super excited to waken to a beautiful sunrise where the sun turned the Torres peaks orange. The weather the previous night had included a bit of rain again I think, it had certainly been windy as well, but hey, this is Patagonia, of course, there would be lots of wind.

    We bid farewell to camp and drove back into the park, getting dropped off at the visitors centre for our hike. Once again, the first part is easy, though a bit long as we had to trek a bit in to get to the bottom of the hill. Our group pace spread out a bit, me of course in the back. It seems no matter how fast I try to go, there really is no making up ground when you need 3 steps to match the 2 steps of those with longer legs. Nevertheless, you've heard me and everyone say before, it's no race. But that's okay, we'll all get there.

    Fortunately the trail bridges were on my side. The first part I fell behind, we caught up at the bridges where there could only be 2 people on the bridge. But of course, once we hit the rocky trail and started to climb, the ascending took its toll. And then the rain drops began to fall. Out came the rain jackets quickly and the we continued on. At the time we figured the clouds would pass soon enough, but whatever luck weather luck we had, had clearly run out.

    It rained steadily as we cleared the rocky trail stage, rained as we trudged through the forest, and still pounded down as we climbed large rocks on the final ascent. As I managed to climb rock after rock, I had to wonder how in the world I was going to make it back. Downhill is usually better for me, but the height of these rocks had me wondering. Nevertheless, I came here to hike and there was really only one way to go.

    With the encouragement and patience with our local guide at the back, I slowly but surely eventually made it to the top, to the base of Las Torres where what awaited was not the clear views of everywhere else we'd ended up but a cloudy and rainy view. Our group mostly huddled under some large rocks trying to stay as dry as possible as we munched on our lunch.

    We snapped our token photos, braved it out as long as we could and then started to head back. Seems everyone had the same idea as it became one steady trail of hikers headed down. The rain continued and the path grew muddier. The creeks and streams were fuller and nobody tried to pass each other for the longest time. We all knew the importance of being steady.

    I found myself at the beginning of our group for awhile on the first steep section down. Aided by the fact that I could only go as fast as the person in front of me, I simply followed their footsteps, down that very path of rocks that I had no idea how I'd climb down. One foot in front of the other, poles out and I actually only partially slipped once. We were soaked straight to the bones and I didn't care about puddles or splashing through the rivets of water that grew along the trail. I think Mother Nature just wiped the term "waterproof" from the dictionary. And in my mind, I just wanted to get back to the visitors centre and into dry clothes, and get warm.

    On and on, skipping breaks, I kept moving forward. Everyone would eventually pass me, but that was okay. It was only the last section before the long walk back to the visitor centre where I would see the final backs. It was the muddiest on that part and definitely the slowest going. It's funny, at home, we would never have gone hiking in these conditions, but all bets are off when we're off on an adventure. And what an adventure it was. I don't know if I'd do this again, but I'd like to think I would if the weather worked out.

    The rains did let up near the latter half of the descent, but of course, it came once more as I was in the home stretch. Oh well, what can one do?

    Back to Puerto Natales for the night, return our gear, and try to dry our gear (believe me this last part wasn't that successful) but alas, we must move on, and perhaps dry everything on our next stop. At least the rain didn't follow us and we ended up with a very pretty sunset to wrap up the day. The weather just has a mind of its own.
    Lue lisää