Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    See you later Cyprus

    January 31, 2019 in Cyprus ⋅ ⛅ 13 °C

    My 5 days in Cyprus ended too soon. This is a beautiful country to explore further, and even in the occupied area in the North as well. I've definitely come at an interesting time where there are fewer visitors, and even got to see snow. There's still lots to see!

    Had a lovely last dinner at Pyxida Restaurant last night in the new marina. A bit tricky to find until you find out. I only ordered aubergine salad (a dip with pita) and the cuttlefish casserole starter sized, but they brought out a lot more on the house: hummous, fries and vegetables. I was stuffed, but managed to finish what I'd actually order and chipped away at the vegetables. They even gave me lemon ice cream to end the meal. Wow! Thank you to the wonderful staff there!

    Off to Israel this morning, and it started to rain. Was a little worried and thought about taking a taxi to the shuttle after all. Like yesterday though, it didn't last long so I was able to revert to my original plan to take the bus to the tourist area to catch the bus from there. It was a bit nerve racking and another test of trust.

    The picture of the stop was different, and I expected a stand there. As it turns out, like the other buses, you simply pay your 9 euros to the driver when you get on. Definitely get to the stop early so you know you haven't missed it. Thankfully I knew I could take the next shuttle if something did go wrong.
    Read more