Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Tel Aviv

    January 31, 2019 in Israel ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    Country #3 on this trip, and I will be home in just over a month. Funny how we break up the time. A bit of admin day for me which a wise friend said I should take, especially on long trips. Sometimes we need a day to just chill, relax and do little.

    Getting through Israel customs was actually very smooth, no questions asked. I did have to wait about half an hour though and it felt like the line wasn't moving at all. I'd originally thought about taking the train and then a bus to the hotel, but heard rumors of 8 hour interrogations, and decided to book a transfer as I also didn't want to lug my stuff around. The drive was pretty quick until we got into the city. What I also remember is the strong air freshener in the car, and how it and the speed on the way made me feel a little green.

    With 2 extra days before my tour started, I booked another hotel just around the corner. It was smaller and more sparse than I imagined, though arguably I had just left a fantastic hotel. Room was comfortable though, and I had time to hit the beach and wander through the nearby Carmel Market while waiting for a spot to open up at a nearby laundromat.

    Things are more expensive in Tel Aviv, making the conversion tricky in my head. Luckily we're not here too long so I can stretch the budget later. The market wasn't too busy as most places had closed up for the night. The beginning section is general goods followed by fruits & vegetables, candy, spices and local items.

    Back at the laundromat, I waited a little while for a machine to free up, then I took a seat and waited. In my head, I had visions of hanging out at a laundromat and working on my script as I waited. Well, this place was quite small and as I had a small load, I was in and out in about 45 minutes, not really time to get into my script even though I did bring it with me. Perhaps next time. Otherwise, it might be something to do on my Saturday in Jerusalem when everything is closed ;)
    Read more