Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    Jerusalem - the last day

    February 11, 2019 in Israel ⋅ ☀️ 11 °C

    And then there was one, just me left from our group. It was going to be an easy day, an admin day, and ended up a Netflix day. My last friend from the tour flew out today. There wasn't much left I think I wanted to see. The Holocaust museum was recommended but I didn't quite feel like making the trek, even if by tram.

    Instead, I decided I would walk the ramparts (this time in its entirety), pick up a bagel for dinner and run a few errands. First off, exchanging NIS to Euros, not usual but I needed Euros for my transfer in Istanbul. I think the best place to change your menu is probably the exchange places by Jaffa Gate. There's no commission so even though the posted rate is less than the ones in the Muslim Quarter, come here. When I exchanged euros a few days ago, I was charged 10% commission in taxes and fees, resulting in less shekels over all.

    After the southern ramparts from Jaffa to Dung Gate. It's a very peaceful walk, but you don't see much of the Dome view. You'll see city panoramas including the quaint neighborhood from last night, and a green hill against the walls. You'll peek into Armenian school yards before exiting just before the Western Wall where yes you can take good photos of Temple Mount. We'd actually walked part of the road below the day before on the way to the City of David.

    Exiting at Dung Gate, I made my way to an awesome viewpoint of the Western Wall my friend had discovered the day before. It would've been the perfect vantage point to witness Shabbat. Here I finished my sabich from the day before before going off to pick up a bagel for dinner.

    Next up a fun adventure to find the Church of the Archangels. I found it on Maps.me and thought, angels, cool, I want to see this church. Winding my way through the Jewish and Armenian quarter, I got lost a few times, sometimes you have to trust the map that there is a path and sometimes you find yourself in a dead end. I almost gave up but finally stumbled upon the Convent of the Sisters of the Archangels.

    At first I didn't want to step in, what if it was private property, but I could see the top of what might be a church and there was no other road. So in I went into a nice courtyard where I found a beautiful image of two archangels on tile. The church, or what I thought was a church, appeared closed though. I peeped through the keyhole but saw a fairly plain worship area.

    Back to the ramparts, retracing the beginning from Jaffa Gate to Damascus that we'd previously done. I debated coming all the way back to have a wander through Mamilla Mall (which we'd also walked through the previous night) but decided against it and to exit through Herod's gate instead as it was closest to my hotel and a very good call to complete the lazy afternoon.

    Your best view of Temple Mount will be from Damascus Gate, but if you continue on, you'll see more residential, schoolyards, backyards. The ramparts were closed at Herod's so that's where I had to exit. Just before Herod's Gate though, you see a walkway that locals use, making for some interesting people watching.
    Read more