Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Sunshine After the Rain

    July 5, 2023 in Norway ⋅ ☀️ 17 °C

    Today: 309km 🚗

    A week into my trip...🇩🇰... 🇸🇪... 🇳🇴

    Total driven so far: 1345km which is 835 miles - it is only about 330 miles from my home to Edinburgh! 🇬🇧

    Still to go: 682km (423 miles) which will take me to Bodø, my Northern-most point of this journey. Where I'll see my friend from 30yrs ago and then take a slower route back to Copenhagen by 25th July ✈️

    So... It was a different dawn chorus this morning. The sound of cowbells might remind me of Switzerland and Heidi , maybe goat bells of Austria. Turns out the Norwegians put bells on their sheep. Lots of sheep = lots of bells🔔🐑🔔

    And it was still drizzly grey outside at 7.30, 7deg cool ☔

    A bit further along on the Peer Gyntvegen (road!) I found a small Joker supermarket - complete with outdoor shop attached and there I met my first moose or elg (but not the last of the day) as he's called in Norway 🫎

    Chatted to the salesman and a company rep for a bit, the latter was from the North side of Lofoten. The quieter and just as stunning side of the islands. 🏔️

    A few km down the road, having been told to keep an eye out on the countryside as they are about a mother and young moose dashed across the road in front of me 🫣

    All was ok, but it did give me pause for thought as I make this long roadtrip! 🤔

    A bit of WiFi goes a long way, so stopping at Burger King has it's uses. Snow visible on the peaks as I drove today.... ❄️ 12 deg on the road mind.

    Danske needed a serious wash, at £20 for the basic wash 🤯 - the car has to have a name, and it just means Danish, but sounds female to my ear 🥰

    By 5pm I was very glad to have negotiated even more roadworks and find myself at this beautifully located campsite. Next to the Trondheim fjord 🇳🇴... 🌅... But we'll have to wait till 11.26pm for sun to set, may have to have a snooze before then 🥱

    Last pics are of my very tasty Norwegian supper: seeded Knaekbrod with blue cheese enjoyed with plenty of carrots 🤩
    Read more