Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    The Island of Vega

    July 14, 2023 in Norway โ‹… ๐ŸŒฌ 14 ยฐC

    Only 62km ๐Ÿš— + ๐Ÿšข x 1hr

    Started the day in bright sunshine, but true to form it then turned blustery wet and chilly โ˜๏ธ

    Chose to have a shorter day of travel, but go a bit further a-sea... (Which is always going to be outside my comfort zone, as being further afield is my usual method of exploring) ๐Ÿšข

    This decision was partly made when I realised I'd stopped three times and only travelled 10 km: a very handsome bridge in the cloud, https://helgelandsbrua.no/ another landscape art 'House of the Winds' and finally coffee โ˜•

    Having realized that signposts on this trip will only get me so far, I looked more closely at all the tourist materials I seem to have gathered ๐Ÿค“

    And that is how I ended up at the Petter Dass museum: a poet philosopher, no less, from the 1600s https://www.petterdass-museet.no/ ๐Ÿ‡ณ๐Ÿ‡ด

    This was combined with a beautifully restored home from the 1700s as well as a modern art exhibition https://www.annesophielorange.com/ Perfect! ๐ŸŽจ

    Plus, when I got back to the car, found Danske had met a fellow Danish traveller ๐Ÿฅฐ

    I also asked the advice of a guide at the museum, and he said 'Yes, do go to the island of Vega, don't worry about the weather'. ๐ŸŒง๏ธ

    Glad to report the very bumpy looking sea was very smoothly sailed or should that be ferried? I did question the wisdom, of setting foot on a ferry during such a blustery day. An hour can be a very long time at sea after all ๐ŸŒŠ๐ŸŒŠ๐ŸŒŠ

    There was a Czech campervan waiting to board at Vega - yup they are still ahead of me ๐Ÿ‡จ๐Ÿ‡ฟ

    Another skulpturlandskap to appreciate upon arrival - ๐ŸŒ

    Then a short drive to my second campsite - beside a lake this time and distinctly cooler than last time ๐Ÿงฃ

    Had a really good chat with an older German, Stefan - he drove (and slept in) his small van up through Sweden to Nordkapp in ten days. He's also enjoying a slower journey Southward. He was pleased to hear about my car-camping adventures ๐Ÿ‡ฉ๐Ÿ‡ช

    The hopefulness of the image on the shower curtain made me smile. Also realised with campsites only open in the summer months no need for lighting on the site โ˜€๏ธ
    Read more