Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Ferry-tastic... Arctic Circle!

    July 13, 2023 in Norway β‹… ☁️ 18 Β°C

    200km πŸš— +
    🚒x 15min, 🚒 x 1hr & 🚒 x 30min

    Started the day with a seven kilometer tunnel, before my first coffee 😡‍πŸ’«

    I have learned that each of these tunnels is like a fingerprint, unique. Today there were flashing lights at the beginning of one tunnel, due to a cyclist using the tunnel.... 🚲

    As if I am not tense enough driving through these wonderful cool spaces! The temperature in one today dropped to 10 degrees – this involved open windows all the way πŸ₯Ά

    More landskapart today, very unexpected to see red bricks pitched with such a view πŸͺŸ https://skulpturlandskap.no/kunstverkene/varde/

    I knew they were going to be car ferries on this trip and today I have managed three of them. Chatting to various fellow travellers - most useful on the first one as the kind Norwegian caravaner told me the next ferry was only 20 minutes drive away and would leave in an hour 🚒

    There is such epic scenery, at every turn and after every tunnel. It is overwhelming and beautiful, as well as timeless πŸ”οΈπŸžοΈβ›°οΈ

    The second ferry, a whole hour this time, included crossing back over the Arctic Circle - which was not announced by the crew on the ferry, so I was mighty relieved the kind Norwegian caravaner had told me earlier and then pointed out the statue on the edge of the coast πŸ‡²πŸ‡΅

    Back on dry land I was glad to spot MUSEUM in big letters, with enough room to slow down and turn off the road. It was part of a coastal fort from the second world war: Gronsvik πŸͺ–

    This allowed me the chance to catch up with daughter Amelia, first phone call since Copenhagen πŸ“³

    The motorbikes from Poland were labelled up 'Emergency First Responder' πŸ€”πŸ€”πŸ€”

    I've had all four seasons today and met a cyclist, from Hamburg who was sheltering from the rain. He's only had five wet days in five weeks cycling from Hamburg. On his way to the Nordkap way, way North 🫣
    Read more