Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Exploring the Coast Road

    June 20, 2023 in Iceland ⋅ 🌬 11 °C

    As I drove away from the old lighthouse I didn't really have too much idea about what to expect. I'd never explored this peninsula before and assumed it would be just a pleasant drive until I discovered there is so much to see in this area.

    It wasn't too long before the views became very Icelandic as I drove through old lava fields consisting of all sorts of shapes, with flat slabs of granite and volcanic vents. I was in my element here, stopping at various parking stops to take-in the views.

    My first proper stop was at the Bridge Between Continents, which is exactly that - the place where the North American and Eurasian continental plates are joined. I photographed the diagram for you to see.

    The wind was still very strong here and I was constantly sand blasted as I explored the site so I decided to give up trying to use my 'big' camera. Using the phone was much easier given the conditions.

    Footnote: please be patient as I know I am many days behind in writing the footprints for this adventure. My time in Greenland is very much full-on with no time to even catch my breath ... there's so much to show you so I'll try and catch-up as soon as I can.
    Read more