Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Garður Old Lighthouse

    June 20, 2023 in Iceland ⋅ 🌬 9 °C

    One of the options I had considered for today was to hire a car and go exploring but it seemed an awfully expensive option. However, I couldn't get into my accommodation until this afternoon and it was still early morning .. I was in Arrivals in no time so it was still only 8.30am.

    Having done my check-in for tomorrow's flight with Icelandair, I decided to get a coffee and a snackette and have a think. I then had this amazing revelation, an inspiring event of blinding light - given one only lives once, just rent the car. 🙄

    This turned out quite tricky because none of the car hire companies in the terminal had a car available for just a day, though I got the feeling they just didn't want to hire out a car for such a short period. I then got the invite to join the West Greenland 23 WhatsApp group, which I joined, and I then messaged Jeroen (one of the two leaders) for some ideas of how to get a car. Direct messaging, he suggested getting a bus to Reykjavik and getting a car from there and he even sent me a Google Maps route to follow. The route was great but I'd lose a lot of time travelling by bus to the city as I think it's 30 miles away, with many stops.

    In the end, I found a rental company a short walk from the terminal, so with my suitcase in the boot, my camera gear in the car and Google Maps to guide me, I left the airport to go exploring and my first stop was a suggestion given to me by the rental company on a Post It note with a list of places to visit.

    My goodness was it windy, I could hardly stand up, but the weather was lovely other than that, though from these photos you would never guess it was Iceland. That would soon change.
    Read more