Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    An Evening in Vik

    July 3, 2023 in Iceland ⋅ ☀️ 14 °C

    The weather was definitely improving. My drive today was very pleasant and it was actually quite warm. When I arrived at the campsite in Vik it was a very pleasing warm summer evening.

    The campsite was much busier this time though, but it was still easy to get a place. I settled in then went to get an evening meal: there are several options within walking distance.

    Photo 2 is a general view across the campsite on my way back. Note the Dacia Duster 4x4 with the rooftop tent. These are extremely common and in one case there were three adults travelling and sleeping up there. It looked a nightmare as they juggled suitcases etc to exist. There were also a lot of people just sleeping in their rental cars too, which was even worse. At night they stored their suitcases under the car. It all looked very uncomfortable and at times must have been very cold.

    Later in the evening I attempted to photograph the sunset colours (around midnight!) but the sun was in the wrong direction for the sea stacks. I tried to get a nice shot of the church but I'll have to wait and see how that comes out when I process my camera photos. I got to bed about 1am. With it always being light at this time of year, you tend to lose track of what time it is.
    Read more