Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Drunkendog

    December 26, 2019 in Mexico ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    I (Brenda) have always loved Mexican beer, so when we came across "Drunkendog" in our Boxing Day walking tour of  Roma Norte and Condesa, we decided to we would have to detour back for a little aperativo.

    Drunkendog is a tap room featuring 38 Mexican craft beers that come straight out of the barrel.  They don't offer any beer flights but it's possible to get small 150 ml pours so you can sample several beers to find one your really like.

    I normally like Mexican amber beers but I was curious about the fruity beers on offer so I tried a Sour Ale with Boysenberry, as well as an IPA with passion fruit, pineapple and mango.  The boysenberry ale was indeed sour but light and refreshing.  The IPA was wonderfully passion fruity on the nose but I was expecting it to be sweeter on the palate. I nonetheless had no trouble drinking it down.

    Roch had the Fauna Belgian White and a Hercules rye pale ale.  The Belgian White was light and refreshing but lacked the citrus element he likes in a white beer.  The rye pale ale was, unfortunately, kinda "meh".  Luckily, he rounded out his tasting session with the 19 Norte Caramelo, an English style brown ale that was as chocolatey as it was caramelly.  It was his favourite, and having tasted it myself, it was my favourite too.  We've decided we'll have to go back and order a full glass each next time.  At 7.6% abv, methinks someone will have to carry me home.
    Read more