Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Kassel

    August 22, 2022 in Germany ⋅ ☀️ 26 °C

    The road to Kassel takes me through Saxony, Thuringia and Hesse.
    I now notice small regional differences in particular - for example, that there are countless plum bushes in Thuringia, from which I take a bit of provisions every day. The amount is small enough to be considered as own consumption.

    I roll through a village and watch a group of birds cross the road. "How cute!" I think and continue to watch the animals. Calmly they cross the street, as known from school trips an older animal is at the beginning of the row and one at the end.
    They run unerringly towards a bush in the front yard of a family house and then enjoy its petals in peace.
    A few streets away, I see a pack of geese prancing around a VW Passat. Shortly after, the alpha animal goes on the attack and starts nibbling at the trademark and radiator grille. Before the critters can take me in their sights, I prefer to quickly scrape the curve. This city is apparently firmly in the grip of birds.

    In Kassel I visit my sister, we spend a nice evening in her shared apartment and I sleep in a bed for the first time in a long time. I could get used to it ;)
    Read more