Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 267

    Random Acts of Kindness

    May 8, 2023 in Morocco ⋅ ☁️ 27 °C

    On my way to Tangier, I am accompanied by Youssef, a boy of about 15, of whom I know nothing more than his name. We have tried to speak to each other, but we don't get anywhere with our languages, only non-verbally. For a while now, he rides his bicycle sometimes beside me, sometimes behind me. Every now and then I sing a song that's stuck in my head or am happy about little things I show him.

    I plan to return some of the Moroccan hospitality today and invite him to a picnic. I don't tell him though, it will be a surprise. 😊
    I get one or two more things and then look for a reasonably nice meadow. He's probably already wondering what I'm doing, he looks so questioning. 😃

    Finally it's revealed: bread, spread, carrots, tomatoes and cucumbers make a good base for Moroccan burgers, and there's apples and oranges for dessert.
    When I tell him to sit down on the picnic blanket and eat, he is very shy at first, takes only a little and looks at me asking if he can. He has certainly never experienced anything like this before: tourists who invite you to eat - the world turns upside down.
    Little by little I encourage him to take more and we have a really good picnic. 😃

    It's great fun to share and give back a small part of what I was able to experience in terms of (guest) friendship in this country.

    The next day I meet Ilyass again, with whom I review our backpacking trip through Morocco and talk about upcoming adventures.
    Two months ago, we met in Akchour and a unique friendship developed.
    Read more