Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 45

    SUNDAY TRIP 2 (SAN ANTONIO DE ARECO)

    January 19, 2020 in Argentina ⋅ ⛅ 31 °C

    Hi and welcome back to the second part of my Sunday trip.

    After we visited Luján and the beautiful basilica, we left the city and drove another hour north to the small town of San Antonio de Areco.

    It was already lunchtime and we were almost starving. So we looked for a delicious place to eat and found it - Alquilo Casa - where they serve a typical Argentine Asado.

    Asado means “grilled” and consists of meat - a lot of meat. I usually try to reduce my meat consumption, but if you want to get to know the kitchen in a foreign country, you have to make exceptions. In this case, a very tasty exception. 😋

    There is barely any other country in the world where grilling is as passionate as in Argentina because the Asado is often organized as a gathering of the whole family or friends.

    Especially in the pampa region, it is mostly beef that is grilled. In Patagonia, on the other hand, lamb is more popular because it is mainly sheep that are bred there.

    We had cordero (lamb), vacio (the particularly tender and juicy meat between the rib and hip), pollo (chicken), chinchulín (beef intestine), chorizo (sausage), morcilla (blood sausage) and matambrito (the belly flap). I didn't like the blood sausage, but I found the lamb the most delicious. 😍

    As a side dish, we had a simple salad, french fries, and the spicy chimichurri sauce, which consists of a spice mix in oil (usually paprika, parsley, pepper, and oregano).

    After this delicious meal, we went into a large park across the street and had a siesta. The park was full of families picnicking in the afternoon sun and looking for a cool refreshment in a small lake. While the others were sleeping, I used the time and called my family in Germany.

    After some time and cuddles later, we drove to the pulperia “La Blanqueada” and the museum “Gauchesco Ricardo Güiraldes”, both are also located in San Antonio de Areco. We were very short on time, so we rushed through the pulperia and unfortunately couldn't see the gaucho museum.

    The “La Blanqueada” is an authentically restored grocery store with more than 150 years of life.

    The museum, on the other hand, offers a look at the Argentine past that is linked to the life and customs of the gauchos, skilled horseman of the pampa. It opened 1938 and is named after Ricardo Güiraldes, author of the famous novel “Don Segundo Sombra”, about a gaucho.

    Afterward, we drove downtown to the fancy restaurant Balthazar Areco to have some cake. I really liked this place. There are various offers of cakes and small treats. And don't we look happy - chocolate es solo amor. 💋

    We ended this day in the small plaza “Ruiz De Arellano”, close by the restaurant. It was not as hot as during the day and we enjoyed the fresh air and peace.

    And it was there where I saw a real hummingbird for the first time in my life!

    Not deep in the South American jungle, no, right there in a little plaza in the middle of a town! He flew so quickly back and forth that it was not easy for me to film him. I tried my best (only my camera quality lets me down again - thanks). 🙈

    I had an amazing day and I am looking forward to more trips with you guys!!! 😻
    Read more