Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 88

    Ruaha

    March 14, 2020 in Tanzania ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    After pressing down the price from 95 to 20 USD I spend a nice night in an elevated lodge with fabulous view over the Ruaha national park. The whole day I drive around in the park for way too much money and many roads are not passable. Still, the landscape is beautiful and different from all other parks! Three large rivers there are and everything looks very natural and wild. That's the way it should be! My hitlist for today: a snake, a jackal, a hippo, a serval (!), zebras, impalas, baboons, a bird, a different bird, another different bird, many other different birds, three owls, elephants, some giraffes, a kudu, tiny little turtles, a duiker and trillions of tsetse flies!

    I reject to pay 30 USD for a simple campsite inside the park and do some wild camping next to the road around 10 km away. I didn't see any fence while leaving so probably some impalas are watching while my kitchen system proofs very flexible as I prepare potatoes with roasted cashews, onions, ginger, lemon and chakkalakka sauce. Yum!
    Read more