Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    Kaputt?

    August 6, 2021 in Germany ⋅ 🌧 19 °C

    Ha, what the heck is going on with my good old Passat? Shorty after Hamm I notice a rattling sound coming from the front left wheel. Something with the tyre, or the axle bearing?? I stop and do a quick visual check of the tyre. Nothing. One Rastplatz further I stop again. The sound appears only while decelerating and vanishes while braking or accelerating. A bearing problem does not make much sense. Hmm, I decide to unmount the wheel for a more detailed check. But, wait, what? Now, two wheel nuts are missing! Wtf?
    I steal one from the back wheel, drive to the nearest Werkstatt, buy two new ones and off I go on the Autobahn again. The reason for all this? Don't know. Always check your wheel nuts before a long trip!
    Read more