Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    I get picked up

    August 10, 2021 in Bosnia and Herzegovina ⋅ ⛅ 36 °C

    I park my Passat somewhere in the backyards of a residential area of Mostar and get my things ready when my German fellows appear within 5 minutes on their bicycles! Lukas, André, Craig and Karl. They started in Tivat some days earlier. The first three also visited me last year in Botswana.

    While unpacking my bike I notice a flat rear tyre. What? Aha. Wasn't flat this very morning. Hmm. The diagnose reveals a leaking inner tube repair patch. Did not remember that I repaired this tube at all! Probably the patch was old and did not stand the high pressure. My boys act quickly and return to a cycle shop which they passed at the last corner and buy a spare inner tube for me. I did not bring one because previously I never had problems on my last long-distance adventures. What do I learn? Always check your bicycle's inner tubes (and you car's wheel nuts).

    As a present for joining them I get a fresh cycling shirt in yellow-violett pizza style which Felix organized. Unfortunately he could not join but is caring for our sweet flat in Braunschweig instead :-P
    Read more