Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15–16

    No signal

    November 20, 2023 in Tanzania ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    Around Mahenge a yet unknown mountain range opens to me. South of it, the landscape begins to get wilder, is less populated and very scenic. It is also dryer here and I am not going to get problems with muddy tracks.

    For the following 24 hours I will not meet a single other car! Just scarce mopeds and a handful of small trucks. Also, you won't find any touristic infrastructure. Nothing!

    Just like in the eastern Uluguru Mountains a few days ago I again see many rock formations made of black-white quartz sandstone which is "harvested" by the locals for further trade.

    And where there are mountains, there is a quarry. Always. And this particular one allows hiding so well from the road that I would be doomed if I didn't camp here for the night, being surrounded by pure nature sound and without having mobile network signal for the following day.
    Read more