Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Yikes! Am at the airport. Go! Go! Go!

    June 6, 2023 in England ⋅ ⛅ 11 °C

    Having returned from a lovely family cruise (which of course included a car breakdown drama), I spent the same day on the phone to Latam Airlines trying to avoid a fine in the Galapogos. Non- residents can't fly on the cheap ticket I had purchased. None of the staff knew about the rule despite it being on their Spanish website but not on the UK version. About 6 hours later, matter resolved with me being about £100 down rather than the USD 300 plus tax which I was facing.
    Day before leaving, I decided to pack and I don't travel light. My defence is in 5 months, I have different weathers and activities to prepare for. Day of travel, strangely calm... then I remembered it was thanks to a Diazepam :-)

    Phil and Dad generously and lovingly brought me to the airport. The car made another funny noise, and what at first appeared to be a flat tyre, was in fact, bits of the car falling off. Anyhow, I was delivered to a very empty Terminal 2 Heathrow and actually rechecked my ticket in case I was meant to be at Gatwick!

    £5 now to drop someone off by car. That's so many kinds of rip off, I don't even know where to start. Ho hum!

    So, as I wait the 3 hours before check-in, I am finally able to feel tired, calm, nervous, excited and overwhelmed all at once. Not even for the next five months, just for the next 5 !!

    Yikes!
    Read more