Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 27

    Baamonde to Miraz, Spain

    September 27, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 57 °F

    Incredible morning. I absolutely love cool mornings with the sunrise greeting me for the day. It seems like an unspoken promise for a blessed day. The walk started out on the highway, but we were then taken down a dirt path, across a little creek and bridge and entered this magical forest where we were both stunned to see a very old church out in the middle of nowhere. Nothing indicating how old, but it spoke volumes to its age. My imagination ran wild thinking of days gone by where families would gather in their Sunday best, it was evident at one time it was a cherished symbol of their faith. Next to it was a broken down stone structure, which I imagined the priest or a caretaker lived, or possibly the rectory? I’m just making stuff up here, I have no idea the history, but it evoked such a spiritual feeling. We had been talking back and forth in a normal tone of voice prior to arriving, but right when we saw it, we went quiet, spoke in a whisper, and were in awe like we had just found the holy grail.
    I love beautiful surprises.
    Our mileage was short today, only 10 miles, but that was a blessing too. I don’t want to get into it again, but let’s just say the foot/leg is not better. I limped into the Albergue today, grateful I didn’t have to take another step. This morning, and at break, I used the cream, took the medicine, but it didn’t even touch the pain. I’m concerned about making it. It’s troublesome that I barely made it today with only 10 miles and tomorrow I have 16. One day at a time. I said I didn’t want to get into it, but yet here I am getting into it.
    I took a 2 hour nap after getting a bite to eat and showering. I could’ve slept all night, but, I got up and went to the cafe next door and had a cafe con leche. My body is tired and trying to put the brakes on this. I’m tuning it out for 4 more days. I’ll pay for it, I know, but I also know, only those who risk going too far are those who find out how far they are capable of going.
    Ciao ❤️🙏🏻👣
    Read more