Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Ah, Biarritz

    July 21, 2023 in France ⋅ ☀️ 70 °F

    Someone once told me that his favorite place in Europe is Biarritz so I was predisposed to like this seaside town with several beaches, surf, great food, diving, great food, narrow streets, great food, basque charm, great food and beautiful people on parade. Oh, the weather was pefectly delightful as well.

    While I was only there two brief nights I had the best chocolate sorbet I have tried (and I try them all. Pamplona was a close 2nd, fwiw), fresh delicious seafood, a delightful morning yoga session/swim, a beautiful sunny afternoon swim and stroll watching wavelets and happy people on the beach, and an evening swim workout.... All on separate beaches within a short stroll from the best AirBnb experience I've had.

    I reviewed an incredible seafood market, fell in love a thousand times (ok, maybe lust?), vicariously geared up for scuba, window shopped boutiques, appreciated art, savored a cold beverage or two, and watched some Brazilian fellow jump over a flag. Incredibly patient people tolerated my butchery of their language; among the most notable were A) my airbnb's dog who cared not one lick for how I mispronounced commands: he accepted scritches in 3 languages; and B) the very happily drunk young man at the bus stop at 7:30 AM who was delighted to muddle through a combination of French, Spanish, English to learn a little about where I am from, where I am going, and to heartily recommend that I visit Ustaritz. He is from there and I suspect he is biased... But certainly enthusiastic.

    It helped a great deal that good friends who I have known for nearly 20 years in Costa Rica live part-time in Biarritz and kept me company for the day. Many thanks to you, Jean Marc and Rhonda. I look forward to the next time that our paths cross.
    Read more