Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Verona

    July 27, 2023 in Italy ⋅ ☀️ 81 °F

    Italy continues to impress me!

    I haven't even started to describe how much I enjoyed Venice yesterday but today I saw (too briefly) Verona and loved it.

    After a quick train ride from Vicenza I walked out into blue skies and a fairly warm day.

    I'd done exactly zero preparation beyond asking Francesca and Alberto "Where should I go?"

    They suggested some spots and... Off I went.
    After a brief stroll I realized I should at least look at a map and get my bearings.... Which is when I realized that Verona is much larger tha I expected.

    Since I had such a positive experience in Oporto, I looked to see if there was a hop-on/off bus here and found one, easily. Yay!

    As a rule, I prefer to explore on foot but when pressed for time the bus is a great way to cover a lot of ground, relatively quickly. And they usually have a mediocre audio guide to help educate you. This bus worked fine and took me around a bit, including up a steep hill to get great city views.

    Verona has an arena (roman coliseum) that is well preserved and centuries -old. Very interestingly... It is still in use as a concert venue! I was excited to tour it but alas... It closed at 3:30 and I arrived at 3:20. Darn. I almost bought an expensive opera ticket but decided against staying out till nearly 1am when I have a 6:30 flight. Menos mal that I did.... My lodging for the night turns out to be problematic.

    But my tour of Verona was great: I sat. I meandered. Enjoyed good lunch. Got a gelato in front of a castle. Took some pics of things. Bought a spiffy italian shirt. And genuinely enjoyed the city's charm.

    Verona is home to the Montegues and Capulets. Purportedly real families and I got to see the (maybe) actual patio from whence Romeo looked up to fair Juliet, his rising sun.

    Nifty.

    Also groped a statue because it is supposed to be good luck. Dunno about that part, seems disrespectful in retrospect. But it's water under the bridge, now.

    And speaking of bridges! This town has plenty. My favorite is probably everyone's favorite because it is beautiful and huge and photogenic. And it has a gelato shop at one end and a gelato cart at the other. Just in case you missed at the beginning of your crossing. Good sorbeto. Yum. (I got only 1, despite temptation. I have *some* self control)

    After several bus rides, I got to the airport where I *thought* I had reserved in an airport hotel. It turns out I am in a pod. Now I know how a snickers feels in a vending machine! It feels more "penitentiary" than "futuristic".

    The listing did say "shared bathroom". It did not say "shared with the whole airport". Also there is no bedding nor pillow nor AC and it's about 85 degrees inside. I can handle it, but after walking around a city all day I would enjoy a shower before I travel tomorrow. Alas, that is not to be.

    Adventure! Isn't always glamorous.

    Also when I "checked in" the touchscreen did not work. At 9:30PM I got quick support via text. I suspect that if I had arrived at 1am, after the opera, it may have proven more difficult. Yay! My good luck helped me out.

    And on that note... I am off to sleep.
    Read more