Satellite
Mostra sulla mappa
  • Giorno 42

    Tram Fiasco

    21 agosto 2023, Turchia ⋅ ☀️ 90 °F

    Today just keeps being story worthy.

    I'd love it if there were nothing else on which to comment, for a while.

    I'd asked a few people and all agreed: the tram to the airport is easy.
    It is not easy.

    So far I've caught several trams and it took me 3 times to realize that the problem was that there is some problem with the tracks, and the tram was disgorging passengers to connect via bus to another tram to get toward the airport. Fortunately, some tram security guys were really helpful in explaining to me what was going on.... And serendipitously my 1st flight is delayed. So I'm calm as a cucumber but a little overcooked by the weather and the confusion.

    I think it'll be fine.

    Note to self: just because the map shows a tram going to where you want to go, it's ok to ask a few people if you're going the right way. Might save hassles.

    On the plus side, the trams are modern, quite, comfy, and air conditioned. Cuz it's too hot to be in a City with a lot of people.

    Well. That was easy compared to this.
    My Turkish Air flight that was "slightly" delayed turned out to be very delayed. Which meant I was the guy running through the airport w a backpack and begging people to let me jump the queue in passport control and security.

    It warms my heart how almost everyone was generous enough to let me pass. Just wonderful !

    Alas
    I missed my flight by 3 minutes. Frustrating.

    Fixing the problem took a few hours, most of which I spent trying to find the Pegasus ticket counter in the airport. Confusion reigned like an addled yet not benevolent dictator.

    And took some money.
    But problems that can be fixed by money that we have aren't problems; they're expenses.

    Flying to Greece tomorrow (22nd)
    And hoping that all flights work smoothly!
    Leggi altro