Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 48

    Paros Memories

    August 27, 2023 in Greece ⋅ ☀️ 79 °F

    While I preferred the beachy laid back vibe of Naxos, I think that was largely due to choice of accommodation.

    Funny how 'little' things can deeply impact our perception of a person, place, or thing.

    I met someone who told a story of "hating Athens" because they got robbed. What hogwash! That happens every day in a thousand places where millions of people have a perfectly delightful experience.

    And yet....
    I liked Naxos better than Paros for perhaps simple luck of the reservations. Life is funny.

    All that said!
    Paros is beautiful. Visually stunning. White plaster, colorful splashes. Tiles embedded in the streets and languid strolling through same. It seems that the to-do's consist largely of strolling, lounging, spending, eating, and drinking. All pleasantly facilitated by friendly beautiful Greek people who seem happy to be living their lives, and by an aesthetic that is undeniably pleasant. It makes me want to decorate a home a-la-Cyclades.

    My mornings consisted of some beachfront yoga and a swim, followed by coffee and delicious food. My evenings, more delicious food. In between? .... Enjoying the view (and a swim), perhaps some wine or delicious food: a delightful restful vacation.
    Read more