Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 49

    Awake and Excited

    August 28, 2023 in Greece ⋅ 🌙 81 °F

    The city wakes, warm: nearly 27° at 7AM (80°F) and smoggy and noisy on this bustling Monday.

    Having arrived at 1AM I barely know where I am yet know exactly: a hostel, a creaky metal bunk and a thin mattress, a breakfast. I have a vague plan for an exciting day seeing "once in a lifetime" sights and a sense of knowing that I will find them both familiar and awesomely different than I expected. Such is modern life: few big things are truly new.

    Big cities offer the advantage of a proscribed itinerary, a checklist.
    "Did you see the Acropolis?"
    "Of course!"

    But they offer hidden gems too, and it can be difficult to keep my sense of wonder and curiosity piqued enough to appreciate those gems amidst the cacophony, confusion, graft and pollution. The sheer enormity of So.Many.People can overwhelm me and makes me crave the simple joy of slipping back into the blue sea.

    But I can see it from where I'm eating, the Acropolis, and that has me feeling like I should get out into the street and soak it all in, revel in the chaos and wonder at the marvels.

    The Day Awaits!
    Read more