Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 141

    Cielo Reunion

    November 28, 2023 in South Africa ⋅ 🌬 68 °F

    Back in September I had a great time with Kimi and Phil aboard Cielo. I figured our paths might cross again at some point and... Sure enough they have crossed here in Knysna, South Africa. ("Nize-na")

    The last time we spent time together it was much warmer!

    I have a little dream of someday introducing all of 'my people' to each other... That would be a logistical accomplishment of epic proportions. Until that wonderful day, I'll just be happy anytime I can make a connection here and there, like now.

    Bruce, Kimi, and Phil hit it right off. Besides knowing me, they're each English expats and adventurous.

    After quick hellos Bruce took it upon himself to give us a superb tour of Knysna. Having wheels and a tour guide was a big plus for P&K, having a comfy yacht on which to sleep was a big plus for B&S. A win-win for sure!

    The Heads are Knysna's most famous boat-eating feature. They form a tight and treacherous entry to a beautiful estuary (called lagoon by locals). We braved a gathering storm to do first one side then the other, swapping anecdotes along the way.

    Then we scampered back to the Yacht Club for some warm air and cold beverages before enjoying a delicous meal together.

    It doesn't sound like much adventure, but after many months on the road it meant a lot to me to be in the warm company of three people who I feel I know pretty well.
    Read more