Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    I know what a Spanish Hospital looks lik

    September 28, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 24 °C

    Not the Camino I expected! Ended up in the hospital with ACUTE DIVERTICULITIS INFECTION. Evidently the lower ab pains I had been experiencing occasionally the last few weeks (which I thought was from new Pilates exercises) was an infection brewing.
    Well they finally turned into non stop excruciating pain. I was thinking appendicitis.
    After X-rays, bloodwork, CAT etc I was diagnosed. (Cute Spanish doctor! I should have taken his pic but at that point I was pretty out of it.) After they filled me with drip of antibiotic and fluids.
    Finally discharged me with prescriptions and instructions of only clear liquids for 2 days and bed rest.
    My Camino is now via taxi from one hotel to the next! Maybe I will be well enough to walk part of the last day.
    Can you believe it!
    Will see what lessons God has for me in this.
    One I know is : you can prepare, anticipate, save, and plan for your dream vacation, but God may have something else in mind. Hmmm.
    Read more