Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    3rd Day on Clear Liquids

    September 30, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 28 °C

    Arrived via taxi to Barrantes. My taxi driver asked if I wanted him to drive me near the Camino.
    He said there was a monastery nearby and he would take me so I could see it. As we were leaving the monastery there was a little cafe and I looked my chance … and what do you know Kathy and MG were having lunch at the cafe! Now what are the chances of that!?!
    I am feeling weak and have a headache from not eating. Hopefully tomorrow I can try to eat some white rice or boiled potato.
    Our front desk clerk, Francisco, at the hotel in Barrantes yesterday claimed to be a “brujo“ (witch). Evidently the town is known for its good witches who sweep away all things bad. He said he had a concoction that would cure me over night of “biches”. So we followed him and he poured a thimble sized glass of it. I took a sip, I had no idea what it was made from but when it touched my lips I knew it had alcohol it it!!! He was quite a character and MG called him rascally!
    Unfortunately we didn’t think to take his picture!
    Photos are of the monasteries I saw.
    One of the monasteries also was and art school and had some of the art students had done.
    Read more