Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 8

    Off to Rotorua!

    April 5, 2016 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌙 10 °C

    Alrighty. Another early morning. Hit the road with the bus by 8am this morning. I got about an hour of sleep on the first bus from Paihia back to Auckland. Thank goodness there was WiFi on that bus so then I enjoyed Spotify and messenger keeping up with people!

    Then around noon I arrived into Auckland. Had a quick lunch at subway and then off to the next bus. This bus didn't have WiFi unfortunately so I just ended up sleeping for the most part. It was actually nice to catch up on my sleep a bit. When I got into Rotorua my hostel was only about an 8 minute walk from the bus station which was nice.

    Upon checking in I met a German guy named Felix who was from Cologne. After a quick shower and a brief chat we decided to hit the town and find something to eat. We got a little bit lost and ended up walking through the government gardens which were beautiful. We eventually found this place called eat street which was an open concept mall of restaurants which was really neat. Most of the places were relatively empty so we just followed the crowd and went into a chain ish restaurant called CBK (craft bar and kitchen). I had seafood chowder which was pleasantly hearty and Felix had a surf and turf burger. He barely touched his fries so I got to eat those too! Felix explained how he had hitchhiked in 4 different cars to get to Rotorua that day. Seemed like we both had long days.

    On the way home we stopped at pak and save and bought some beer and breakfast foods only to realize that the hostel didn't allow outside liquor.. oops! Upon returning to the hostel we tried finding things to do for the following day but somehow got entered into a "killer pool" tournament. I actually ended up winning and won a free beer as well as a refund of one nights stay at the hostel! A total value of about thirty bucks so I was quite happy 😊 Needless to say I am REALLY enjoying this hostel. Not only because I won but it just has an incredible vibe and there is a very social atmosphere which I am really enjoying!

    Later Felix and I decided on a plan for tomorrow. We have got quite the day ahead and I look forward to writing my entry tomorrow night! Until then, goodnight and take care everyone!

    -Terrence out
    Read more