Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Te Papa Museum and Mount Victoria

    April 10, 2016 in New Zealand ⋅ ☁️ 16 °C

    Today was an alright day. I woke up still feeling a bit under the weather. Chris went to the super market and then made Sage, Erin and I breakfast which consisted of bacon, toast and eggs. It was really quite delicious.

    After everyone left Chris and I headed out on an adventure. Our first stop was Te Papa which is New Zealand's largest museum. It was beautifully designed but I quickly remembered how much I really don't enjoy museums. I think most of it has to do with me being quite a poor reader because after about half an hour I got quite bored, not to say that was Chris' fault or anything. But fun fact, the museum is the safest place in the city to be during an earthquake haha.

    When we left the museum there was like a round two of the dog walk that was waiting outside. Except this time it seemed to be almost exclusively very large dogs. There were even about 5 Leonbergers, which are by far the biggest dog breed I've every seen. When I asked the lady how much hers weighed she said 76kg which is about 168 pounds! Holy crap that's more than I weigh! Either way it was quite a sight and all the dogs were really well behaved 😊

    After that we decided to climb mount Victoria which much like mount Eden in Auckland, is at the heart of the city. It was a much more difficult climb than mount Eden but we made it and the view was nice. I'm kind of over the city views though. They're nice, but they're pretty much all the same.

    Afterwards we grabbed McDonald's for lunch. I had my second big Mac of my life and to be truthful it hit the spot quite nicely. After that I had an hour nap and woke up feeling sick again. I decided the rest of the day would be low key. I went to the market and bought food for the next few days. Then came back and played fifa 15 (a soccer game for ps3) against Chris' flatmate from England. I didn't mean to but I beat him 5-0... oops. Then I just made myself some noodles and that was supper.

    Finished the day off by watching some TV with Chris. He has been a great host and I'm very thankful that I got to stay with him and his friends and flatmates. Tomorrow I take the ferry and then bus to Nelson!

    -Terrence out
    Read more