Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Sunny Day in Wanaka

    April 20, 2016 in New Zealand ⋅ ⛅ 14 °C

    Today I woke up to Emilie telling me to get up because it was already half past ten. Oops. I got up and had chocolate cake for breakfast with Emilie, Rebecca, and a french girl named Anne from my dorm room. That was a really nice way to start the day.

    Emilie and I decided to go for a brief walk after I got ready for the day. We went down to the beach for a while before Maria (from the ferry) met up with us and Becca and we all walked down to the local vineyard. On the way down we found the wanaka tree which is the a small tree growing out of the water in the shoreline. I took a picture that looks like I'm holding it haha.

    We got to the vineyard and sampled a few different wines. The first were a few pinot noirs. They were okay but I'm really not a red wine person. The rieslings were much better and the four of us even decided to buy a bottle. So we sat on the hill of the vineyard and enjoyed the bottle in the sunshine. It was a relaxing afternoon.

    When we got back to the hostel Emilie and i decided to spend the evening together just the two of us. So we went out and I suggested starting with dessert so we went and got gelato. Emilie got Dulce de Leche which I don't even know what that means and I got some cool named caramel. It was honestly some of the best ice cream/gelato I've ever had. We just sat on the beach and enjoyed our ice cream while watching the sun set over the mountains.

    Later we decided to get pizza. On the way back to the hostel we stopped to get a few things at the grocery store. There was a guy outside busking and he was amazing. He did a diamonds cover by Rihanna. The way he did it was so beautiful and original. My mood changed substantially after that and I just began to appreciate everything about wanaka and what the evening had become.

    We got back to the hostel and had our pizza. A little bit later I saw a guitar and decided I would play Emilie a few songs that I had written. I ended up feeling quite comfortable in front of her so I shared four. Later on we spoke and she explained that she had connected quite a bit with my song lyrics. That was honestly one of the best feelings in the world to know that my lyrics really touched someone. She also seemed quite confident in my vocal ability which was flattering to say the least.

    Afterwards Rebecca, Emilie and I just had a nice relaxing evening together sharing more personal stories. Tomorrow Emilie and I leave for Queenstown. I'm sure lots of epic adventures await! Goodnight my friends!

    -Terrence out
    Read more