Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 24

    Queenstown Can't Handle Us

    April 21, 2016 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌙 19 °C

    Alrighty!

    So today woke up and checked out of the hostel. Emilie, Rebecca and I had great morning of walking down by the lake. I found a statue and took a few interesting photos with it. The girls needed coffee and so we stopped at the same shop that Emilie and I had gelato at yesterday. There were these three guys that were having double scoop ice cream cones for breakfast and I was so jealous! After we bought some tortellini and had a quick lunch. I might have put too much salt... oops.

    After lunch I found a guitar and started playing again. I played a small show for Emilie and Rebecca for a while before the hostel owners son Isaac came by and I invited him to play. He was quite an amazing guitarist and he played some older tunes from Pink Floyd and the Beatles.

    After that Emilie and I departed to catch the bus to Queenstown. It was a beautiful drive full of beautiful trees that were changing colours for the autumn months and reflective lakes that made beautiful pictures for the eyes to behold.

    Upon arriving in Queenstown Emilie and I quickly found our hostel and checked in. I was also able to meet up with my friend Emma that I met in Franz Joseph and we set up plans for tomorrow tomorrow but they're a surprise!

    Once everything was sorted Emilie and i set out for dinner. We found this place called fat badgers. They had two sizes of pizza, 12" and 20" so naturally we got a half and half of the big one. And wow was it ever big. Half was some sort of lamb creation which was my favourite and the other half was a chicken bacon something rather which was pretty good also.

    This young guy actually served us the pizza. When we left we thanked him and I asked if he himself had made the pizza and he shook his head yes. I then asked his name. He said Badger. I said like you own this place? And he said yes. I thanked him and was so taken back that such a young lad could own such a wonderful place to eat. Not to mention it was packed. This moment was definitely one of the highlights of my trip because my newfound way of thanking people really paid off this time because otherwise I would never have known I was served the pizza by the owner himself!

    After dinner Emilie wanted to go somewhere to just have a relaxed glass of wine. As we walked there was a place with live music and I wanted to go in but I knew she already had a place in mind so I didn't say anything (I should mention this isn't Emilie's first time in Queenstown). Anyways the bar with live music ended up being the place she wanted to go and I was very pleased.

    I got a beer and she got wine but I didn't like my beer so we ended up switching drinks. Me and red wine are not usually friends but this particular one was very nice to sip. We shared a lot of wonderfully personal and deep thoughts. I even started explaining how all the most important people in my life had influenced me and changed my view of the world which was quite an interesting realization. I recommend you do it one day. Just stop and think of all the traits you have and who around you has given you them or influenced those thoughts or behaviours. It's quite eye opening in a good way!

    The band was a couple from Ireland called Calico. They were absolutely amazing. Shortly into their performance they announced that they took requests so I requested some ed sheeran and they played "A team" for me which was really nice. They also played Babylon by David grey and What are you waiting for by George Ezra which weren't songs I knew but I quite enjoyed and will have to learn once I am back home.

    Finally I grew tired and we headed back to the hostel which to my delight was actually just down the street. On my real birthday (Saturday) Emilie will be leaving to go back to the north island so we're celebrating tomorrow. I'm sure it will be quite the day! Goodnight everyone and take care!

    -Terrence out
    Read more