Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 31

    Off to Christchurch!

    April 28, 2016 in New Zealand ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    Alright another super early morning for this lad! Woke up at 6 to catch the bus on time. Had a pretty good snooze on the bus though before our midway stop where I had banana bread and a milkshake for breakfast haha.

    After a long six hour bus ride I arrived I Christchurch. Now for those of you who don't know, Christchurch got pretty demolished about five years ago by a couple big earthquakes within the span of a few months. These two quakes almost entirely leveled the city and within months the city was a disaster. Now from what a local told me, NZ kinda refused to ask for help in the rebuild and hence it has taken quite a while to rebuild. Even today as I walked through the city centre it was evident that there was still quite a ways to go. Construction was absolutely everywhere.

    But there was some beauty to this devastation. Street art is everywhere and it is beautiful. Also as a way to cope with lack with the demolition that the earthquake left, a lot of shops and small food stands are run out of old train cars which gives the city a very unique feel.

    Once I checked into the hostel I went straight to my room with full intentions of having a long nap. Unfortunately I had about 10 minutes sleep before snapping myself out of a bad dream. After accepting I wasn't going to be able to go back to bed I went down to to he lounge and watched about a boy (to movie). Despite the Netflix show being pretty good, the movie was pretty shit and I wouldn't recommend it to anyone haha.

    Afterwards I showered and had a salad for supper. I met a girl from the Netherlands and a guy named Paul who was from Germany. Paul was really cool and relatively shy, but was a very warm character. Apparently the night before he had noticed there was free flour in the kitchen and fre yeast so he made dough last night to make himself pizza today. Pretty smart kid. So he made a pizza completely from scratch today and what's even better, he decided to share it with me! It was so tasty and I was more than impressed. On top of that he was only like eighteen.

    Later I relaxed for the most part. I played some pool with Paul and wrote this entry. I decided to call it an early night. Tomorrow will be a long day because I'm heading to Australia!

    -Terrence out
    Read more