Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 32

    The Beauty of Christchurch

    April 29, 2016 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌙 11 °C

    So I woke up this morning to the densest fog ever. Nice.

    Got ready and checked out of the hostel, but I was allowed to leave my bag there. I bummed around until about noon when I decided I better get out and see some of the city. First I figured out the bus to the airport and then I went on a hunt for food. I ended up at this cheap little asian restaurant. I had the best peanut stir fry ever. It was so delicious! Bonus, while I waited for my food I managed to map out where I wanted to go on my afternoon adventure!

    So I headed out and the first thing I noticed is that the map I had marked all the spots where there was building art so that was the bulk of my adventure. A lot of the art was mural sized and rather abstract but they were all stunning in their own ways! I think the art really helps tourists and residents alike keep their eyes up and on the art rather than the ruins of what used to be.

    On of my favourite pieces of art was the dance-o-mat (naturally). So essentially on the corner of this one streets sits a like 8x8 meter dance floor with a speaker in each corner. On the side of the dance floor is a laundry machine with an iPod jack. You deposit tl $2 into the machine and you can play music there for the next half an hour. Pretty freaking cool and you can get it pretty loud! If we had one of these back home I would probably live there. Needless to say I had a public dance party there... haha.

    Afterwards I went walking down new regent street which had an almost European feel to it. The buildings were colorful and old styled. I can't really explain. There I stopped at Mrs Higgins over fresh cookies. They were so fresh and the shop smelled so so good. Also on the same street I saw a guy maybe in his fifties straight up dressed like a sorcerer, hat and all, sitting at a table having coffee. Didn't get a picture with him and I'm regretting that now.

    Next I went to restart mall. It's a mall almost entirely made up of old train cars. Even stores like lulu lemon were in them which was cool.

    Next I went to the botanic gardens and I learned why christchurch is called garden city! The garden is absolutely massive! And it has a little River (nothing like saskatoon's) running through it where people could canoe or kayak down. I didn't have time or I definitely would have! Either way it was super beautiful, serene, and quiet.

    After I needed some supper so I found this place called Mexicanos. I had a quick chat with the bartender and he recommended a fish taco and this special Mexicanos fried chicken. The taco was gone so fast but the chicken really surprised me. Somehow it was almost sweet in flavour. And so tender. It was slightly expensive but definitely worth it. The bartender actually knew were saskatoon was because he had dated a girl from there once upon a time! Small world!

    Afterwards I got back to the hostel and I had received an email saying my flight was delayed so I spent a while at the hostel before heading to the airport. Now here I am waiting eagerly to my plane for my next big adventure!

    New Zealand has been absolutely incredible to me. Each place I visited gave me a unique memory that I'm sure I will cherish and hold onto for a long, long time. Australia here I come!!!

    -Terrence is out!
    Read more