Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 62

    A Few Things I Learned Along The Way

    May 29, 2016 in Canada ⋅ ⛅ 8 °C

    Wow.

    After exactly two months abroad I am going home. Most people seem to be quite upset when they have to go home at the end of their trip, but this time I'm not. I feel like over the past two months I've met so many incredible people so cheers to every single person that made my journey memorable! I also know that I did more self reflection in these past two months than I've probably done in my entirely life prior to this trip. Here are a few things that self reflection taught me:

    I confirmed that I very much dislike nightclubs, but I learned that I very much enjoy deep conversations over a casual drink in a nice environment. But do you know what I enjoy even more? Ice cream. So if anyone wants to go on an ice cream date with me this summer, just tell me a place and time and I'll be there!

    This trip also really helped me with the idea of living in the now. Often people including myself, get way too caught up in the past or get far too ahead of their future thoughts. This was a huge problem I faced in my day to day life prior to my trip. In fact it's still something I struggle with, but I'm working on it. I just need to consistently catch myself when I'm going into the past for the wrong reasons, or the future without a specific target. Bus rides were a great place to practice, or really anytime that I had "too much time with my thoughts." Next time you catch yourself drifting into a dangerous thought, just ask yourself this question: "how do I want to feel?" More often than not the thought you're about to dive into isn't going to get you feeling the way you want to feel, so leave it alone and keep yourself in the now.

    This trip has taught me to appreciate home and everything that entails. My family who had my back this entire trip. My closest friends who I wanted to share all the details of my best days with. But also the things I didn't see before like the opportunities that Saskatoon has for me, far beyond a career.

    Being away from home it became clear that there aren't many cities that you can find such a range of restaurants and food choice all within a 15 minute drive from one another. Or that you can do country dancing in one night, salsa the next, and west coast swing a few days later. That is so unique and incredible and I think without going away, I may have never fully realized that.

    I also learned that stepping out of your comfort zone is a good thing. Try things, be spontaneous! But the other thing I learned is it's alright not to enjoy everything, just as long as you give it a real fair shot! If you haven't tried something before you can't know you don't like it, so if you're hanging around with me in the future I'm gonna call you on that shit!

    Those are just a few small things I learned about myself on this trip. To anyone considering a solo trip, I don't care how long or where you're going, I highly support your vision and if you need someone to give you that extra push, I will happily do that for you 😊

    This certainly won't be the last big travel trip of my life, but for now I am content with what I have seen this past year, and it's time for me to begin building a life based not on the next destination, but on making my HOME as exciting and fulfilling as I've made these past two months.

    Until next time,

    -Terrence is home!
    Read more