Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 61

    Finishing Up The Trip

    May 28, 2016 in New Zealand ⋅ 🌙 17 °C

    Thursday May 26th

    Today was probably the best day of the week. It started around nine am with Emilie knocking on my door and then her quite literally dragging me out of bed. The weather was perfect for the first time in days and she told me to get ready because we were going kayaking asap!

    By ten we were in Paihia and Dan had set us up with two kayaks at a discounted price (because he's such a cool guy). The water was so incredibly calm, it was magnificent. We paddled out quite a ways to this little island. Me being me I was all concerned and worried about sharks, but really it's a bay and they never come into the bay. Plus it's New Zealand and they're far less prevalent here.

    Eventually we made it to the island. After a five minute hike the trail opened up and boom! What a view! Oh there was also this little bird on the island that was adorable and it kept following Emilie around. It continually flew within arms range doing very short fast flights around her and I. It was incredible. After about half hour we took off. On the way back the weather was turning so the sea was much more choppy and challenging, but we made it back alive 😊

    We went back to Emilie's and she made us coconut pancakes for lunch which were delicious. Eventually we decided to go do a wine tasting in Russell. Some of their wines had sold out for the season already, but the ones we tried were quite tasty and Daniel (the man running the tasting) even gave me a deal on a bottle.

    After that we went to the Duke of Marlborough for a drink. This is actually the same place we went almost two months ago when we met. It was crazy to think how things had changed so significantly since then. Emilie was now settled down in Paihia with a car, a job, and a place to stay and I had nearly finished my journey.

    We left the Duke and took an hour to head to the beach where the sun was just about to set. The waves crashed along our feet. There were some rocks I climbed that reached into the sea a fair bit. We enjoyed the view there for a good while.

    After the beach we went back to the Duke for dinner. We decided to eat quite fancy so she ordered a nice steak filet and I ordered this fancy fish sampler with some nice mashed potatoes. When our drinks came Emilie toasted to our second last dinner together, but I cut her off before she could and said "let's not tall about it." I believe it was this exchange that led to something quite hilarious/magical later in the evening.

    Anyways the food came and it was delicious. There was a coconut dish that involved raw fish that wasn't really my thing but the other two fish dishes were fantastic and Emilie's steak was great too. Upon finishing our meals Vincent (our waiter) came by the table and he put $50 cash onto the table. He said "I've done this for 18 years and I can't believe this just happened, but the table right beside you left this when they finished. They said they heard Terrence was leaving soon and that he looked sad." Emilie and I laughed so hard! They had obviously assumed that we were a couple, but regardless what a kind act. The duke is a really fancy place and our bill (after dessert too) was $120. Because Emilie knew Vincent he gave us %20 off so it came to $88. After the kind gift we technically ate two huge main courses and dessert along with a drink each at arguably the nicest restaurant in town for only $38! WHAT A NIGHT! And what kind strangers, I'll have to pay that forward sometime soon 😊

    We took the ferry home. In the middle of the bay as we were crossing it turned all of its lights off. The night sky lit up in ways I don't believe I have ever seen before. There was no light pollution and the night was so clear it would have been difficult not to be amazed. I have a feeling my eyes were probably as bright as the night sky was because I was more than delighted.

    Friday May 27th

    Another extremely memorable day! We had a late start, but after getting up we headed back to Keri Keri. We went back to the little Thai restaurant from a few days ago and had another tasty lunch.

    Afterwards we headed out towards the Puketi forest which was one of the stops on the tour that we both met on. As we got closer the roads turned to gravel and the country side turned into massive green winding hills. We took the 10 minute loop hike through the forest for the second time in two months. It felt like it had been ages since we had been through.

    After the mild hike we took the car all the way around the forest which I believe was a fourteen kilometer drive. This would have been a quick drive in normal conditions, but we chose to drive extra slow to enjoy and take it all in. The trees stretched into what appeared to be the skyline. It was clear some of the kouri trees were easily hundreds of years old and gigantic in both height and girth.

    When we finally finished there, we drove all the way back to Paihia. I think we spent about three hours just relaxing before it was about seven and we headed out with Jan for my farewell night out.

    Jan took us to the Retired Servicemens Club. It was initially created for all the men who had come home from World War II, but as the veterans started to pass away, they eventually opened it up so the public could become members. The only reason we were allowed in was because Jan signed us in. I guess you could say "I know people" haha.

    Anyways we got in and naturally the place was filled with seniors and a few middle aged people, but the scene was still so alive. Everyone was chatting with someone and there were greetings all around for the new faces (Emilie and I). The alcohol was cheap and Jan was quick to buy the first round. After we got drinks we ordered our food and began to mingle. I ordered the lamb shank and it didn't disappoint.

    As the night went on I met Phil who was a good friend of Jan. He owned a local hotel in Paihia called Swiss Chalet. He told me about how much he loved Canada and how he spent a good chunk of the 70s and 80s in BC and had even married a BC girl way back when. Despite how things didn't work out with her, he still spoke of her quite highly, which was really nice to see.

    There was a one man band who was playing on and off throughout the evening. The ladies in the club definitely weren't shy about getting up and dancing to a few classic tunes. At one point in the evening the entertainer (who I'd learn was named Jack) stopped his whole set and pointed across the hall at me. He caught me doing my own little dance in my seat and told everyone in the hall that it was clear I wanted to get up and dance. Naturally being called out to dance I sprung up out of my seat and made my way hastily to the dance floor. The ladies faces were all quite bright and inviting and they quickly taught me one of their line dances which to be honest were much more difficult than the ones I had done back home. There was even a shimmy part which I really committed to and they all had a good laugh with me. When the song came to an end I hugged a few of them and thanked them for being so inviting.

    When I sat down there was evidently a new buzz in the hall and it felt like all eyes were on me, the young kid from Canada who had happily jumped right into the mix of everything. Phil and Jan praised me greatly for what I had done and explained how much they knew everyone in the hall appreciated my efforts. I was soon tapped on the shoulder by a lady named Zayda who asked what I was drinking. Before she was out of earshot Phil leaned over and explained that she was the manager of the club and she was about to go get me another drink to say thank you for having a good round of fun with all of them. Naturally I joined in a few more times after that, and even got Emilie up out of her seat for a dance as well!

    For the rest of the time at the club I sat with Jan and watched a few rugby games. She better explained the rules and it was clear that this was really her game of choice. She even told me which players she had the hots for haha. Eventually we packed up and headed home, but not to bed just yet.

    When we got back to Jan's we all stayed up sitting around the patio table outside having one more drink and exchanging a few more deep thoughts. I really came to respect Jan, as she was an extremely bright mind with plenty of stories to share of how she got to where she is today. I also deeply respected her honesty to both herself and those around her. Around one we called it a night and headed to bed.

    Saturday May 28th

    Today is the day. I'm finally going home. Emilie and I had a quick breakfast and off I went. I thanked Jan once again for her hospitality and that was that. Emilie took me to the bus stop where we exchanged a few long hugs and then the bus came and I was gone.

    In the airport I met a nice mother and daughter from London Ontario who had just finished a few weeks of visiting relatives in Australia. I connected really well with them on all kinds of topics and it was refreshing to have conversations with complete strangers again.

    The flight went by quite quickly. I watched a few of the hobbit movies and caught about three hours of sleep. Los Angeles airport felt even bigger this time. It ended up taking me an hour and forty minutes to get through all the security check ins and whatnot. By the time I got through I had only about ten minutes until boarding.

    On the flight to Calgary I got bumped to the front of the plane for what West Jet calls "plus" seating. I was in the very seat of the plane so I had an abundance of leg room (since when is that a thing on airplanes!?).

    One more flight and I'm home!

    Ive decided im goimg to write one more entry to wrap everything up and then I'm finished!

    -Terrence is out!
    Read more