Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 96

    Day 96: Cochin, India (Part 3)

    March 27 in India ⋅ ☀️ 88 °F

    Lunch, Tuk Tuk, Fabric store, Spice & Perfumes, The fishing nets.

    So at the fishing nets the invited us on to their dock and went through a whole routine and show which was fun and interesting, They never told us there was a cost. At the end of their bit. They asked for money - “To help my family etc”. So, I knew it was coming - but, I was a bit taken back.When I gave the $10 they wanted more. He wanted $20 —- I gave them $12.

    One of the things I have noticed throughout this cruise is all the people swarming in on us to sell us something, a cab ride, magnets, shirts, dresses - at time it gets over-whelming. I reflect on my life and know I am very fortunate to not have to depend on this type of lifestyle to make a living.

    At one end of the spectrum I feel empathy for them and when they are swarming me I get just plain mad. - and try to keep my cool.

    Our lunch was very nice traditional Indian food - Donna got a couple of cashmere scarfs - I was very happy with the photos I took with both the iPhone and the Sony.
    Read more