Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 96

    Day 96: Cochin, India (Part 4) Birds

    March 27 in India ⋅ ⛅ 84 °F

    My main camera back home is a Canon 90D with a full array of “L” Red line professional glass. Prior to going on this cruise I asked previous cruisers/photographers what camera are they using? Several mentioned the Sony RX10 IV - It’s about $1,600 and has an attached 24 - 600mm Carl Zeiss optical zoom lens.

    I am very happy I am not lugging the Canon equipment. If I smashed or lost a lense It would make me sick. Between my IPhone 14 Pro Max and the Sony I have been able to take just about any picture I want or need. And my Canon equipment is safe at home. My back thanks me for the choice.

    One person asked, “How do people take good bird photos?”

    The key is Shutter Speed priority (The faster your shutter speed the better - 600 or faster) and make sure the bird’s eye is in focus.

    Here are some more bird and river pictures of our time in Cochin, India.
    Read more