Satellite
Afficher sur la carte
  • Jour 42

    Wandering about Copenhagen

    25 octobre 2022, Danemark ⋅ ☁️ 12 °C

    We both woke up around 8am this morning, this is quite the sleep in for me! Since we had no breakfast supplies I decided to head out in search of a supermarket. Didn’t have much success but I did locate a 7 Eleven where I could get fresh milk and then a fabulous bakery where I got a latte, bread, cheese, yoghurt and a cinnamon roll (delicious). I think I will get my coffee from there every morning.

    Once we were fed, watered and dressed we headed out and just decided to wander to see what we would see. Before long we were in a wonderful mall that is only for pedestrians and cyclists - there are a lot of cyclists and many of them ride very fast! So you have to remain alert at all times.

    During our meanderings we saw some wonderful architecture, some nice churches and lots of nice and interesting stores. All that walking made us hungry so we stopped for lunch at Seagulls, a traditional Danish restaurant which was run by a lovely young man.

    Brigitte ordered a Croque Madame and I ordered an open sandwich, the Danes call it a Smørrebrød and they were both fabulous. We had a glass of Aussie Shiraz (McGuigan) with it.
    I finished the meal off with an espresso. There was the offer of home made cake but we were both too full.

    After lunch we participated in some retail therapy- some supplies for dinner and some items to just make us happy - clothes and Christmas decorations. We also did a bit more sightseeing later in the afternoon.

    We had a lovely dinner of cheese, salami, bread and wine for dinner. Again, we are getting a relatively early night. Tomorrow we plan to the National Gallery of Denmark (SMK) to see a Matisse exhibition, which I am really looking forward to.
    En savoir plus