Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 62

    Marvelous Mechelen

    November 14, 2022 in Belgium ⋅ ⛅ 4 °C

    I am pretty well organised to start my trip home tomorrow and so Brigitte suggested we visit the city of Mechelen, about 40 kms from Limal. We have been fortunate with the weather again, although it was cold overnight (1 degree Celsius) it is sunny and will get to about 16 degrees.

    As we have to collect Emma from school today Brigitte decided to drive there, normally we would go by train. We arrived and parked near the huge and impressive Cathedral Saint Rombaut. We then headed to the Grote Markt passing several interesting sculptures and art work on the way. The whole town is very well maintained and just so beautiful.

    There are a number of art and music schools located in the city and it is reflected in the abundance of artistic and cultural activities.

    We spent a couple of hours walking around and then found a lovely restaurant for lunch Huis Van Hoof, where we both had their open sandwiches, Brigitte had sautéed mushrooms and garlic and I chose smoked salmon, omelette and shrimps. Both were delicious. We were also given the most divine amuse bouche of marscqpone, basil, walnut, peppers, fig and tomato - I had to go and thank the chef who was very chuffed with the feedback.

    After lunch we wandered around a little more, we found the site of the old fish market, the music conservatory, the artistic precinct and a stunning sculpture garden, which unfortunately isn’t open on a Monday, but we could see through the gate.

    We made it back in time to collect Emma and then Luc dropped in to say goodbye as did Gui with Pablo. I also got to see Steph when he collected Emma and Luc ended up staying for dinner which was nice.

    I have done 95% of my packing with just a few things still to go in my suitcases. So the journey home begins tomorrow but I am spending a night in London and flying home on Wednesday.

    I have had a wonderful time and as the holiday was so much fun it has whetted my appetite for more travel. Bring on 2024 and more wonderful adventures.
    Read more