Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 61

    One last look at Brussels

    November 13, 2022 in Belgium ⋅ ⛅ 6 °C

    Today I planned to head into Brussels one last time as I still needed to buy some chocolate and biscuits from House of Dandoy. Brigitte dropped me at Ottiginies and I caught the train into Brussels, it was very fast as it was express from Ottiginies to the city stops.

    The Christmas lights and decorations have gone up and the Christmas market is under construction and looks like it will be open in about a week. Obviously the decorations and lights are better at night, but with the clear days we have been having the nights have been very cold so I won’t be venturing back into the city to see the lights - I had my fill of Christmas lights in Amsterdam and Delft.

    I wandered around the city a bit which was full of scout groups who were in groups of about twenty singing songs. This was nice initially but everywhere I walked I would run into another scout group singing very loudly which did become irritating so I took refuge in my favourite Italian restaurant to have lunch. I have been there so many times this trip the waiter recognised me!

    After completing my shopping, I headed back to Brussels Central for the trip back to Ottiginies where Brigitte kindly picked me up.

    This evening Gui, Geertje and Steph are coming over for dinner. I requested Chicon Gratin a Belgium dish that comprises Chicon (witlof or chicory in English) that has been boiled and drained, it is then wrapped in ham and then placed in a baking dish, covered in bechamal and cheese and baked - absolutely delicious.

    We had a nice evening and it was nice to see Geertje and Gui again before I head home.
    Read more